Daily Archives: October 7, 2008

Naomi – Summary from Bumpy Ride – Sept 19 to Oct 7

First, of course, my apologies to you all about not being here but it’s been a bumpy ride.  Most of it good.

Did not reach my goal of 5,000 steps per day though I did much standing–baking Barackolate Chip Cookies on Sept. 19, then selling them while registering voters on Sept. 20.

September 20 also noted that I’d maintained 142 pds. achieved on Sept. 1.  Worry about gaining on trip to Portland, but, as it turned out, that was least of concerns.

Sept. 22 –Treadmill – 3.0/1.5, 10 minutes; 20 AB crunches, 1,287 aerobic steps

Sept. 23 – 6,558 steps walking 63rd street to 81st.

Sept. 24 – Yoga class, 90 minutes.  First time, class Holly goes to.  Exercise was adjusted for my limitations; very much enjoyed it and will return, I hope, on October 8.

Sept. 26 – 6,763 steps: flight to Portland, thanks to airports much walking; activity while with family.

Sept. 27 – 29  Realized that I was not reading Pedometer accurately.  Since did not change the time to PST which is three hours earlier than New York, had been accounting for that–then lost it! Somewhere in here there are total of 17,000 steps, 2,526 Aerobic from strolling baby carriage and another day walking about Oregon Flock and Fiber show.

Thanks to the wonders of Omron, was able to track back 7 days.

Sept. 30 – 9,898 steps, 2,025 Aerobic…day I met Marianna, blogger Hattie’s Web, from Hawaii.  She exercises via swimming.  Though we most sat, ate lunch, spouse & I went to marvelous crafts museum, grocery.

October 1 & 2 – Meltdown begins.  Laid low by allergies/virus [?]

Oct. 3 – 5,376 steps, 1,087 Aerobic

Oct. 4 – Ambulance to hospital with gastro flu, IV, shot.

Oct 6  – Return to NYC…wheelchair to gate beats schleping bags, easier through damned Security.

Oct 7 – Chilling out, better but not up to much activity.  Turned down chance to go to Jon Stewart TV Show tomorrow with Holly.  This is big: Michelle Obama is guest.  Oh well.

5 Comments

Filed under general

Sandy – back in action?

Hello everyone and apologies for absence.

Finally I think I’m ready to get going (slowly) again.

The last knee injection was Monday 22nd November and it was quite painful. (Surprising because the others didn’t hurt at all).

Anyway, for the last week I’ve done about 2000 or more steps a day plus the gentle exercises the doctor gave me.

Today  i tried the exercise bike but gave up after a minute because I could hear and feel my knee creaking!

So it looks as though it’s going to be a case of taking it slowly – but – hey I’ve made a start!

5 Comments

Filed under general

Holly – review, goals

Greetings all and thank you for your welcoming messages! Sorry for not posting sooner, the last few weeks have been very busy and also I couldn’t figure out how to work the pedometer I bought. Thank God for youtube, finally I just went on there and found a video of someone explaining how to set it. What a great world we live in! Now I know how to work it and I have logged my steps for the last several days. The totals could be a lot better but I am now fully in the swing of this and intend to bring the total steps way up per day.

Monday Oct 6 – 1413 steps
Thursday Oct 2 – 2601 steps
Wednesday Oct 1 – 4693 steps
Tuesday Sept 30 – 6640 steps

I am getting back to my normal routine which includes yoga once or twice a week (I have a wonderful class very close to me on the upper west side). I want to find an aquatics exercise class and start that as well. I am feeling very empowered and motivated!

Holly

5 Comments

Filed under general