Sara – to Paris and back! Ooh la la!

Bonjour, tout le monde, je suis arrivé de Paris, après une bonne visite avec Claude!  OK, now I’ll return to English since my French still isn’t all that great.  Claude and I had a wonderful time hanging out together, walking, taking photos, eating, talking, etc. etc. etc.  Weather was cold but that just made it nicer going into restaurants and cafés.  I had some truly exceptional food and will share just a few photos…

But first to fill in my exercise record before leaving…

Dec. 26, 2010 – Jan. 7, 2011 – week of my trip to Paris!  Weighed 137 when I left, 139 when I returned!
Sun. Dec. 26 – 3528 steps (3 Leslie abs miles)  ST – 3×10 bicycle crunches
Mon. Dec. 27 – 10446 steps (4862 aerobic)
Tues. Dec. 28 – 10001 steps (5357 aerobic – maybe these were the Cincinnati steps…hmmm…)
Wed. Dec. 29 – 7836 steps (4215 aerobic in the Cincinnati airport during layover, sometime) – this step count is off due to resetting the pedometer.  I can’t figure it out & who cares…

I arrived in Paris early on Wednesday the 29th and Claude and I went to dinner that night at a Left Bank restaurant that I had discovered two years ago.

Our first night was spent at Le Petit Pontoise, and here is Claude anticipating dinner!

I had a beautiful leg of hare with a yummy dark brown sauce and tasty carrots and potatoes.  Claude had magret canard – orange sauce – which she said was marvelous.  We like this place!  AND it’s quite close to my hotel.
Thurs. Dec. 30 – reset time – 11686 steps (3841, incl. 22′ on Claude’s elliptical)
Fri. Dec. 31 – 20626 steps (6223 aerobic)

We spent New Year’s Eve together, eating quail with celery root and figs and Cote du Bourg red wine (can’t do that accent, Claude, it wants to close my page!)

The next morning, I set out to walk to Montparnasse and ended up bypassing Montparnasse and seeing other things.
2011:  Woo hoo!
Sat. Jan. 1 – 11971 steps (4494 aerobic)

On New Year’s Day, I ate this

tartare saumon avec frites et salade, at Au Vieux Colombier, for a very reasonable price! Delicious!

Sun. Jan. 2 – 17628 steps (5240 aerobic)

As you can see, I did a lot of walking in Paris even though I was a bit jetlagged!  Good thing, since I also did a lot of eating!  I went to Notre Dame for several festive masses on Epiphany – here is what the beautiful altar looked like

Notre Dame's high altar with crèche, Epiphany - music was incredible, Maitrises de Notre Dame!

Mon. Jan. 3 – 13510 steps, zero aerobic
Tues. Jan. 4 – 19194 steps (4986 aerobic)

I resisted the siren song of these Christmas market goodies near St. Germain des Près...

But I must confess to enjoying quite a bit of vin chaud, irresistible in the chilly weather!   It kept me walking…
Wed. Jan. 5 – 14760 steps (1123 aerobic)

I did indeed climb the 450 steps to the top of the towers of Notre Dame and here is the proof...

Thurs. Jan. 6 – 16225 steps (2085 aerobic)

One of my nicest meals was here, on rue Montagne St. Geneviève, but my exposures were off so I'm showing you the resto...

Fri. Jan. 7 – 5844 steps (flew home)  boo hoo boo hoo…there was free wine on the plane which helped me sleep a bit…and then coffee to get me ready for the 3 hour drive from Pittsburgh to home…

And now at home, my body is finally realizing that it’s not in Paris any more…
Sat. Jan. 8 – 4406 steps – pretty out of it due to jet lag – weighed 139 lbs., only 2 more than when I left!
Sun. Jan. 9 – 8678 steps (50′ cardio = 3 LS miles, 2 of them w. arms focus)
Mon. Jan. 10 – 8836 steps (54′ cardio = LS 4 mile challenge; 12′ Pilates abs video)
Tues. Jan. 11 – 7428 steps (44′ cardio = 3 LS miles, 1 legs focus, 1 fast); ST pliés/relevés 3×8 – finally began to sleep on a normal schedule!
Wed. Jan. 12 – 8876 steps (42′ cardio = 3 LS abs miles); ST bike crunches 3×8 – hit my goal weight of 135 pounds, thanks to eating differently, I think as a result of the trip.

Today I oscillated back up to 136.5 but that is to be expected.  A wonderful vacation, lots of great food and drink, and still on track – what more could one want for 2011?

I’m not making New Year’s resolutions, but I am laying a few tentative plans which I will tell you about in future posts.  For starters, I am experimenting with Bollywood Dance videos, beginning today!  I need some variety, a change from Leslie, and I may also add some Zumba, will try out some videos from Netflix.

Work begins again in earnest on Monday and there is a choir party Sunday night, so I have a few more days of improvised activity which I am looking forward to.

See you all soon again in 2011!  Hugs, Sara

2 Comments

Filed under general

2 responses to “Sara – to Paris and back! Ooh la la!

  1. lilalia

    Sara and Claude, I don’t remember laughing and enjoying a blog post about exercise so much! Wine and food and exercise in between. It is so lovely to think of the two of you spending such lovely days together. The blogsphere is such a wonderful world, is it not? Sara, so glad you are back safe and sound.

  2. lynnbechtel

    Sara–Welcome home–lovely to hear about your trip and see your pictures. Sounds like a grand time.

    And I’m curious to find out what the new year holds for you. I have a number of friends who swear by Zumba but no one has tried Bollywood dance! Have you found Zumba video clips or DVDs somewhere?

    Lynn

Leave a Reply

