Claude – waiting for her MRI

I’m looking forward to the time when the word knee won’t appear in my posts, but it’s not likely to happen soon. My MRI is scheduled this coming Friday, and I’m hoping they’ll spot what’s wrong. The following Wednesday, I have an appointment with the doctor who prescribed the MRI and hope that she’ll have useful suggestions. Physical therapy hasn’t helped as far as pain is concerned, and I must say that my other leg is feeling the strain too.
Well, meanwhile, I have added to my strength exercise, and hope it’s doing me good.

Here’s my week from Monday, October 18 to Sunday, October 24th 2010
Monday: 20mn flexibility, 6×15 single leg raises, 5×15 standing up from chair, 4×5 wall pushups, 8mn warming up, 35mn cardio on elliptical
Tuesday: 20mn flexibility, 30mn physical therapy, 10mn warming up, 35mn cardio on elliptical, 6mn stretching, 3×15 lying abduction, 3×15 bridges, 3×15 lying leg curls, seated butterfly stretch
Wednesday: 20mn flexibility, 5×15 crunches, 5×15 reverse crunches, 5×15 ball squishes between knees, 13mn warming up on elliptical, 30mn cardio on elliptical, 6mn stretching, one hour Feldenkrais class, 13200 steps
Thursday: 20mn flexibility, Abs with stability ball (not very efficient in my opinion), 5×60 arms reinforcement, 4×15 standing up from chair – my opinion), 5×60 arms reinforcement
Friday: one-hour gym class, 11mn warming up on Elliptical, 31mn cardio on elliptical, 3x15close arms wall pushups, 3×15 standing up from chair, 20mn physical therapy, 10300 steps
Saturday: 20mn flexibility, 4×8 lying leg curls, 4×15 lying glute contraction, 4×8 bridge-ups, 12mn warming up, 31mn elliptical, 6mn stretching, 10500steps
Sunday: 20mn flexibility, 5×15 crunches, 5×15 reverse crunches, 5×15 lying ball squishing, 20mn PT, 10000 steps

3 Comments

Filed under abs, Arms reinforcement, Elliptical trainer, Feldenkrais class, Stretching, Walking, Warming up

3 responses to “Claude – waiting for her MRI

  1. Sara

    This waiting must be agonizing. Especially as your other leg is beginning to be stressed as well. I’m so glad it is Friday and I do hope and pray that they will find some answers.
    Lots of variety in those exercises! Super. And I can’t quite believe that you’re still managing to do your 10,000+ steps – even with pain meds I’m not sure I would be so valiant.
    Hang on, be hopeful – what is that song “change is gonna come!” Hugs…

  2. lynnbechtel

    Claude–I’m glad to hear that you’ll finally get some answers and hopefully a route to recovery for your knee. Your step count is great, especially considering your painful knee(s). The strength work is good even if it’s not having an immediate effect on your knee pain. If you do need to have some surgery, it will be good to go into it with strong leg muscles.

  3. Nancy

    It could be so easy to sit and do nothing because of the pain but the pain, when you do move, would be worse. All of your work strengthening your leg muscles will benefit you in the long run. If you need surgery your recovery will be faster with all the exercise you have been doing. If you don’t need surgery then what you are doing will help keep you moving (and off the cholesterol medication! As someone who is on one of the statin drugs I envy your ability to lower your cholesterol by exercise.)
    Your are doing great!

Leave a Reply

