Claude – finding it difficult to post

I copied and pasted my exercise report from my Google calendar last Monday and have been the prey of procrastination ever since! 😉
I find it difficult to sit at the computer for a long time, because my knee doesn’t like it when I’m sitting. That is my only excuse.
It’s been a weird week. Last week’s Wednesday was hot and stuffy (29°c) and as of Saturday, Autumn weather settled in, really chilly and humid.
My knee is slowly getting better, and I resumed pedalling on my elliptical last Friday.
The only difference is I warm up on the elliptical for 10mn BEFORE I start the cardio part. And I find that it is making a difference. I guess I’m always trying to reach my goals too fast and it hasn’t helped at all, even setting me back.
The hospital coach had to stress the importance of warming up for weeks before it eventually sank in.
Incidentally, I turned 66 on September 24th and just realized that is when I resumed the elliptical. A good omen?

So here is my exercise for the last week (September 20 to September 26 2010)
Monday: 15mn flexibility, 15mn physical therapy program, leg stretching, lying single leg raise: 2 sets, 15 reps, lying raise both legs: 2 sets, 15 reps, 10000steps,
Tuesday: 15mn flexibility, 15mn physical therapy program, leg stretching, lying single leg raise: 4 sets, 15 reps, lying raise both legs: 2 sets, 15 reps, one-hour stretching class, 12300 steps,
Wednesday: 15mn flexibility, 10mn physical therapy program, wall pushups: 4 sets, 15 reps, crunches: 4 sets, 15 reps, reverse crunch: 3 sets, 15 reps, leg stretching, lying single leg raise: 4 sets, 15 reps, lying raise both legs: 3 sets, 5mn stretching,10125 steps steps,
Thursday: 15mn flexibility, 15mn physical therapy movements, 5mn stretching, 10283 steps
Friday: 15mn flexibility, Single leg raises: 4 sets, 15 reps, 10mn warming up, 10mn cardio on elliptical, 15mn physical therapy10800steps
Saturday: 15mn flexibility, Single leg raises: 4 sets, 15 reps, 10mn warming up, 11mn cardio on elliptical, 25mn physical therapy, 13000steps
Sunday: 15mn flexibility, single leg raises: 4 sets, 15 reps, 10mn warming up, 12mn cardio on elliptic, 5mn stretching, 10mn physical therapy, 10000 steps

4 Comments

Filed under abs, Pedometer, Stretching, Walking, Warming up

4 responses to “Claude – finding it difficult to post

  1. Sara

    Brava, Claude! I too hate to warm up. Have to make myself walk a bit before diving right into the Leslie videos, or before starting a run. I’m so glad you’re back to the elliptical again…
    I also hate to sit at the desktop computer – and I don’t have a painful knee, so no excuse at all, except I just don’t like it. So losing my laptop was SUCH a blow. Sitting on my stability ball instead of a chair is a GREAT help actually. I am much happier that way…
    and you’re reminding me of those darned leg raises again…I really need to do them…gr gr gr…thanks! 😉

  2. lynnbechtel

    Claude–Good step count and wonderful consistency with the strengthening and stretching exercises.

    And Happy Birthday! I think it is a good omen that your knee is happy with the elliptical again.

    Overall, it sounds like the PT you’re doing is paying off and your knee is improving.

    I’m with you and Sara in not liking to sit for long at a desktop computer (unfortunately, I have no choice when at work). I’m so glad I have a laptop at home and can sprawl on the couch to do computer work.

  3. lilalia

    Happy Birthday! Good to know your knee is improving. It really is a matter of taking baby steps (lol).

  4. Nancy

    It is great that warming up before exercising is helping. Experts do say that warming up before exercising helps to reduce injury but I never thought of it as important for being able to exercise. It makes sense.
    It is great that you are able to use the elliptical machine again. I’d say it was a good omen that you restarted on your birthday!

Leave a Reply

