Claude – Back from Berlin

And back to ElderExercise with weekly regularity.
And we are all invited to weekly regularity, right? 🙂
With a prize to Lynn who has been wonderfully regular, in spite of her bad knee and has been showing us the way.

Am I trying to imitate her with a hurting and swollen knee? Not of my own free will. But I must say that the summer has been… a pain.
Starting with bladder infection, followed by knee pain. Still, I was grateful for pain-killers, since they allowed me to enjoy my visit to Berlin, with my friend Barbara.



They allowed me to walk instead of sitting like this happy Berliner

Here are my steps and other exercise for the last two weeks, Monday August 30th to Sunday September 12th

Monday: 15mn flexibility, arms reinforcement: 5×60 reps, lying single legs raise: 4×15 reps, thighmaster: 3×15 reps, 9500 steps
Tuesday: 15mn flexibility, wall pushups: 3×15 reps, lying single legs raise: 4×15 reps, thighmaster: 3×15 reps, 11805 steps
Wednesday: 15mn flexibility, arms reinforcement: 5×60 reps, lying single legs raise: 4×15 reps, thighmaster: 3×15 reps, 10500 steps
Thursday: 15mn flexibility, 17468 steps
Friday: 15mn flexibility, 16763 steps
Saturday: 10mn flexibility, 4sets 15 reps single leg raise. 13000 steps
Sunday: 15,800 steps
Monday: 15mn flexibility, 4sets 15 reps lying single leg raises, 13279 steps.
Tuesday: 15mn flexibility, 4sets 15 reps lying single leg raises, 2 sets 15 reps wall pushups, 15800steps.
Wednesday: 15mn flexibility, 4sets 15 reps lying single leg raises, 9000steps
Thursday: 15mn flexibility, 4sets 15 reps lying single leg raises, 4sets 15 reps thighmaster, 10000 steps
Friday: 15mn flexibility, 4 sets 15 reps lying single leg raise, 11000 steps, 31mn brisk walk, one-hour Feldenkrais class, sitting up: legs extended feet flexed 2x5mn
Saturday: 15mn flexibility, 4 sets 15 reps lying single leg raise, arms reinforcement: 5 sets, 80 reps, crunches: 4 sets, 20 reps, reverse crunch 4 sets, 20 reps, 7000 steps
Sunday: 15mn flexibility, 4 sets 15 reps lying single leg raise, sitting up legs extended feet flexed 2x5mn, 10300steps

No cardio whatsoever except maybe a couple of times, because of swollen knee. I have an appointment with a doctor specialized in sports ailment 😉 this afternoon. I am going with X-rays and stuff. We’ll see what she says.

The therapist I saw recommended this exercise, which I try to do as often as it comes to mind (not enough)
Sitting upright on the floor, back against the wall, wearing sports shoes (for slight elevations), legs together and extended, feet flexed.
Stop before it becomes painful. Good when you do a lot of walking, good for the knees, he says.

4 Comments

Filed under Brisk walking, Feldenkrais class, Stretching, Walking

4 responses to “Claude – Back from Berlin

  1. lilalia

    Those are some serious steps! I do hope you had a good time in Berlin. One of my three favourite cities: Montreal and NYC being the others.

  2. lynnbechtel

    Welcome back Claude. Sorry to hear about your knee–I hope you got some answers from the sports doctor. In spite of your aching knee you got in some high step counts. And straight leg lifts are a great knee exercise (they’re a key part of my physical therapy regime).

  3. Sara

    It strikes me that all this may be a blessing in disguise, in that the leg raises are certainly working to strengthen those muscles – and you will benefit when your knee improves! The seated hamstring stretch is a great one too.
    An amazing number of steps, considering your knee has been hurting!
    Hope the news from the doctor is helpful.
    And yes, I will be more regular…I will be more regular…I will be more regular…
    🙂 😉

Leave a Reply

