Lynn–knee news

Hello all. I saw the orthopedist in Boston today. As I suspected my knee is a mess with arthritis related issues. His immediate recommendation is for intensive physical therapy so I’m back to the PT tomorrow and hopefully we’ll get started on a more intensive workout schedule. He also gave the go ahead to get back to aerobic exercise–I’ll just have to see what I tolerate best. I’ll keep you posted.

I think this is just the beginning of a process that will eventually result in knee replacement–but hopefully I can hold that off for a while. This is our family curse–my mother, aunt, grandmother, and sister all have/had serious osteoarthritis. My sister had a knee replacement last spring–my aunt has also had joints replaced. My mother never did but probably should have–she was pretty well crippled in her old age.

The good news is that this doctor seems intent on helping people stay really active.

3 Comments

Filed under general

3 responses to “Lynn–knee news

  1. One of my French friends has gone through quite successful knee therapy. How long it will postpone the progress of arthritis no one knows, but it’s well worth trying. Good to know that the doctor didn’t say you couldn’t do cardio. That’s good news on the whole. It’ll get even better when the knee stops hurting!

  2. lilalia

    Well, at least you have clarity. The PT sounds as if it might be a matter of taking two step forwards and one back. Make sure you treat your knee kindly.

  3. Sara

    Well, I missed commenting but now I have seen the update. Glad you’re progressing! And congratulations – I think you win the Most Regular Posting Award! Woo hoo! 🙂

Leave a comment