Claude – a varied exercise week

The knee thing I have been mentioning has been found to be a thighmaster by Sara and apparently can be found on Amazon.
I can’t believe that I went to the swimming-pool on my own and actually swam with my flippers 600 metres (that for me is A LOT). I was dead tired when I got back but pleased with myself.
They started me on light running. When I say running, you have to understand that I don’t actually run, I am changing the way my feet hit the ground, is the best description I can find. I have to keep my usual heart rate but pretend I’m running 😉 Anyway, after doing it a couple of times a week for 5 consecutive minutes for several weeks, they had me do it twice twenty minutes this week. Let me tell you that I find it even more difficult than swimming. Actually not more difficult on the spot, but two days after the running, my body is full of parts that I had forgotten existed and that only show me they are here through muscle stiffness.

Monday: 10mn stretching, 15mn arms reinforcement, 25mn cardio indoors biking, 5mn stepper, 18,302 steps
These 18,000 steps may seem like a record. They are in a way, because I don’t think I have ever walked that many. But in fact I went walking with a friend who is out of shape and walks rather slowly, I didn’t feel that we had gone for a very long way, but I WAS rather tired because of walking so slowly. Apparently, slow walking produces more steps? Weird.
Tuesday: 10mn stretching, Abs 4X10 reps, LS 2-miles (22mn cardio), 20mn cardio swimming (600m), 6,597 steps



Rue de Rivoli, a painted door discovered on one of my walks

Wednesday: 15mn arms reinforcement, one-hour stretching class, 41mn cardio walking, 10 rep thighmaster, 9,140 steps
Thursday: 10mn stretching, Abs 4X10 reps, 10 reps, 10reps thighmaster, 10 squats, 46mn cardio-walking, 14,200 steps
Friday: 10mn stretching, 15mn arms reinforcement, LS 2-miles, 21mn cardio, one-hour Feldenkrais class, 12,500 steps
Saturday: 10mn stretching, Abs: 4X10 reps, 3X10 reps, 34mn cardio of which 20mn “running” 11,128 steps
Sunday: 10mn stretching, 22mn cardio LS-2miles, 10 reps thighmaster, 11,802 steps,

5 Comments

Filed under Aerobic pace walking, Biking indoors, Feldenkrais class, Leslie Sansone, Pedometer, stepper, Stretching, Swimming, Walking, Weight Lifting

5 responses to “Claude – a varied exercise week

  1. Sara

    Good for you! This is amazing in its variety. I need to start doing specific Abs things in addition to Thighmaster. And 600 metres in flippers! :-O
    I’m curious, how are you changing the way your feet hit the ground? Is it like an LS gentle jog? Heel first or on balls of feet?
    I like the LS jogging but don’t like doing it outside on concrete. It’s nicer indoors on my carpet, even though under the carpet is a cement floor…

    • I think the LS gentle jog is more like sprinting, I am supposed to put the heel first and then the rest of the foot, but mildly jogging. I wear marathon shoes all the time, which means that they have a thick sole isolated from the ground with gel. A bit ridiculous for a woman my age, but who cares, they are ever so comfortable

  2. Sara

    Oh and by the way, adore the door! 🙂

  3. Sara

    Marathon shoes! They may be more padded than the ones I have. Hmmmmm…

  4. lynnbechtel

    Love the variety, Claude–I bet it keeps the exercising more interesting.

    Swimming is a good workout I’ve found–works all the muscles in the body. And yes, I’ve found it more tiring to stroll than to walk briskly.

Leave a Reply

