Naomi – saying goodbye & many thanks

ElderExcercise has been a wonderful experience in a couple of ways.  Personally, I’ve had the unusual opportunity to have and idea somewhat outside-the-box that worked.  Of course, that was only possible because Claude thought it was doable–and did the heavy lifting to make it so.

On the physical side, it has been a great gift to have the support of all the participants who encouraged me to hang in with my efforts.  I know that this is the reason that I can now approach something I’d never have thought possible:  water aerobics!  Three times a week in my retirement community an “active aerobic” class meets.  After working up from gentle aerobics to two times a week, I begin a three-time schedule this week.

Just now I’ve ordered two new swim suits online from Eddie Bauer.  Was told that I was just in time since there were shown on the Oprah show and will be sold out soon.  Well, yours truly does not get air-brushed, so my look will only be moderately glamorous.  Though I have two suits from the past (barely used), this purchase came about because I wanted suits minus skirts–something more serious.

I’m even thinking of really learning how to swim after all those years at summer camp in the beginners’ groups.

Though we are still too carbound here in Portland, Oregon, another woman and joins me for a weekly walk.  Even with the light rain that’s a part of winter here, we pace around a running track used by the nearby college.  And we have plans for the better weather.

Moving here has proved to be an excellent decision.  In addition to being very busy with our young family, we chose a place filled with lively people who have a similar attitude toward aging and a great interest in the world around us.  That helps us stay balanced in these very difficult times.

So, thank you again.  I’ll continue to check out Claude’s remarkable photos and Sara’s blog.  If you want to know what life is like for a newcomer in the northwest in a CCRC (continuing care retirement community), visit my blog a little red hen one day.  And keep making those moves.  yours, naomi

4 Comments

Filed under general

4 responses to “Naomi – saying goodbye & many thanks

  1. lynnbechtel

    Naomi–It sounds like you are in a good situation in your new home. Best wishes to you. I will be sure to take a look at your blog.

    Lynn

  2. Naomi, I am sorry to see you go, especially since without you, ElderExercise wouldn’t exist! It was, after all, your idea.
    Congratulations on water aerobics. I tried last year and didn’t like the wet side of it. If only water was dry, I’d probably love it. 🙂
    I will, no doubt, visit your blog, as I used to.
    Congratulations on adjusting so well to this new life of yours and au revoir

  3. lilalia

    Naomi, like Claude, I am sorry to hear you are moving to better pastures. I wish you all the very best and thank you so much for all of your enthusiasm and comments over the years. Do take care. Glad to hear you are happy with your move.

  4. Sara

    Oh Naomi, we will miss you! I promise to visit your blog more often. I’m so glad the water aerobics thing is working for you. Like Claude, I tried it. Didn’t mind the wet part itself but hated having to get ready and then go through all that de-chlorinating, drying, moisturizing stuff you have to do to be presentable after.
    I am so pleased also that you are enjoying life in the Pacific Northwest. I’ve always wanted to visit that part of the US so maybe someday I will and you will get a surprise visit from me!
    Do take care and we will see you on the web…my “blog” is so vestigial but one of these days I will do a real one & let you know.

Leave a Reply

