Lia- Off the sofa and onto the ice

These last weeks have been very strange ones indeed. I have been wrestling bad weather (terrible ice conditions), a boat of lethargy,  the pull of our sofa and a large pile of books…. I wish I could report a firm resolve to change my ways, but actually, I am more inclined to tread carefully and start slowly back into a regular routine. I definitely needed the time to recharge my inner batteries. The last months of work, trying to finish my research project in good form, were far too draining. Now, after nearly three weeks of relaxing, I feel so much better. Yet, it was not all sofa surfing. There were five days when the weather made it possible to take long walks: each 45-60 minutes long. And there were another 6 days where I managed 15-20 minutes of walking. I’ve taken Claude’s suggestion of crouching down and try to do this 2-3 times a day for a minute or two.

3 Comments

Filed under general

3 responses to “Lia- Off the sofa and onto the ice

  1. Sara

    Recharging your inner batteries is so essential. I think I was doing a bit of that after Christmas too. I also feel much better now! You did quite a bit, considering your need for charging! And I’m sure when it is time to be more active, you will be!
    I have been doing the occasional squat as well…
    And better weather is just around the corner! 🙂

  2. Good to see you back and to know you are feeling better. Squatting is good, even if it’s the only thing one does, at least it’s better than the couch.
    And great for the long and shorter walks!
    Looking forward to read about your next week 🙂

  3. lynnbechtel

    Ahh–the pull of a comfy couch and a stack of good books. We do feel the pull to hibernate, don’t we?

    Recharging isn’t a bad thing–and it sounds like you managed to include some physical activity in your relaxation time.

Leave a Reply

