Claude – snowing in Paris

It’s been quite an unusual week for us Parisians. We hardly ever get snow and temperatures hardly ever get to 0°c (32°F). Well, both things have happened over the week.

Walking in the snow at Jardin du Luxembourg

Sun. Jan. 4: As often on Sundays, I didn’t walk much, 4,600 steps, going to the market and back
Mon. Jan. 5: lousy weather, went to hospital for check-up, part of my exercise program. For those of you who understand some French, it was partly filmed and you can watch it here, or here. That day, I walked only 4,000 steps
Tue. Jan. 6: 9,000 steps, forget about brisk walking, since I really wouldn’t like to take chances and fall…
Wed. Jan. 7: 9,258 steps
Thur. Jan. 8: 13,479 steps 20mn brisk walking + 20mn brisk walking! I was quite pleased with myself! Stuck to large avenues that had no snow
Fri. Jan. 9: One hour stretching exercise, 8,230 steps
Sat. Jan. 10: 6,200 steps 10mn brisk walking + 10 mn brisk walking

5 Comments

Filed under Brisk walking, Pedometer, Walking

5 responses to “Claude – snowing in Paris

  1. sablonneuse

    It is much colder this Winter isn’t it? In the north of the Ardennes, at Givet, the temperature fell to -19 degrees recently. We’ve had a minimum of -14 and the well water is still stuck somewhere in transit!
    You were very brave to go on national television for your hospital visit. Syndrome de la bedaine translates as ‘potbelly’ or ‘paunch’ syndrome. I’m sure they haven’t thought of that in England but they do treat people for high cholesterol etc.
    My doctor hasn’t said anything other than the fact that I should lose weight but I have to admit to being rather large in the tummy area. . . . . .
    It was interesting that the doctor told one man to eat only when he was hungry. Is that what you do, Claude?
    I’m impressed with your step count despite the cold weather. At least they forecast rain soon.

  2. @sablonneuse, yes, I eat when I am hungry, aim at eating for at lest twenty minutes, which is what it takes for satiety to settle. The dietician advised to reduce –but not suppress– cheese, so I used to have cheese any time and all the time. I reduced to once a day, whether as a 30g portion or added to pasta or rice or gratin or whatever. I try to have no more than 2 fruit a day, but occasionally splurge on three and will allow myself charcuterie or pâtisserie once a week so that I don’t feel deprived. My favourite food being bread, I eat as much of that as I wish and was advised to have starch food for each meal, as that is what fills you up, but of course, that was my contract. They will adjust to your way of life and your tastebuds and insist on satisfaction.
    So I mostly focus on exercise and not food, which allowed me to lose 12 kilos in one year 😀

  3. Sara

    This is very interesting, Claude — I will come back and read with more attention and follow the links later. Want to do my post now! Then get back to work. Hi, everybody, I will be back to comment…

  4. Sara

    Quelle bonne video! C’est tres interessant de voir votre medecin, et les autres qui marchent aussi. Je ne comprends pas tout, mais je retourne aux videos et ecouter autrefois — pour faire meilleur mon francais! (j’ai besoin…)
    Tu as un site video, n’est-ce pas? J’ai vu le “hailstorm” a Normandie mais la prochaine video ne marche pas…je l’essaie plus tard!

  5. naomidagenbloom

    A great fan of your videos, I enjoyed very much listening/watching the crunchiness of your walk.

    Speaking of which, a few years ago, someone pointed out that it’s good to have crunchy foods to eat–but I’m not sure why. Carrots, celery, pop corn (my own favorite). What are the “starch foods” you mention–rice, potatoes, pasta? I’m fascinated that you lost all that weight via exercise, not food.

    “The Instinct Diet” book I’m reading claims “strong tasting foods satisfy sooner. Most chocoholics can eat tons of milk chocolate but only a few squares of dark!” Not so sure about that.

Leave a Reply

