Lia – The Poetry Archive

I’m delighted that you agree that poetry and music is in keeping with this site during these winter months. Sara suggested recipes, which I personally would say yes, but only if they were accompanied with photos or a story why the recipe is special.

My brother sent me the link to The Poetry Archive about two years ago. This site opened up a whole new world to me. For, until then I had either read poems or heard them, but never done both. To experience a poem visually and audibly enhances my understanding of the poem’s soul. To hear the actual poet read their poem is a cherry on top.

Today’s poem,  “Overblown Roses” by Mimi Khaivati, is particularly poignant to me at this time in my life. Whether it menopause, long winter northern nights, the end of year, a general malaise or sapping of life energy, the poem’s last verse speaks kindly of my “overblown rose” beauty.

If any of you find another poem on The Poetry Archive that means something to you, please tell me the name and why you like it. It will add a sharing element to the experience…

3 Comments

Filed under general

3 responses to “Lia – The Poetry Archive

  1. sablonneuse

    I loved the poem when I read it and it was only afterwards that I found the button to hear it spoken aloud. What a lovely idea.

  2. Sara

    yes, beautiful! thank you, Lia

Leave a Reply

