Claude – wintery week

I don’t know if I am the only one to feel like this, but I just cannot go for brisk walking when it gets really cold.
So no brisk walking at all this week. 😦
I have trouble getting out of bed in the morning, and really have to kick myself to get out. And on those days when I manage over 5,000 steps, when I get back home, my muscles are sore.

Yesterday from Passerelle Léopold Senghor

The river Seine

Sun, Dec. 7, stayed at home and enjoyed every minute of it 😉
Mon. Dec. 8, 7,000 steps, and I found it pretty difficult to force myself to get out.
Tue. Dec. 9, 3,000 steps, one-hour Feldenkrais session
Wed. Dec. 10, 10,500 steps, (6,000 aerobic)
Thu. Dec. 11, 14,000 steps
Fri. Dec. 12, One hour stretching exercise, 8,500 steps (3,500 aerobic)
Sat. Dec. 13, rain all day, 5,000 steps, (2,390 aerobic)

4 Comments

Filed under Feldenkrais class, Pedometer, Stretching, Walking

4 responses to “Claude – wintery week

  1. naomidagenbloom

    If my math skills were as good as yours, there’s an average step count that would appear here. But, even so, your activity looks quite substantial to me. One hour of stretching leaves me in awe.

    Actually, the winter challenge appears for all of us finding ways to move about once it gets cold. It was so easy in milder times to add steps by walking the paths within my apartment complex. Now just taking the trash to the room down the hall seems a big deal.

    Do we need to focus more on controlling food intake in winter when there’s less exercise? This is a hard one!

  2. Sara

    Oh, good job, Claude — despite your reluctance, you have two GREAT step counts here and the rest quite respectable! It is very hard to make oneself get out when it is cold. I have only managed one stint of brisk walking this week, and a short one at that!

  3. sablonneuse

    Going out in the cold is very difficult when it’s below zero – and you have to be careful when there’s black ice about too.

  4. i am thinking about feldenkrais. do you recommend it?

    btw, i read that we burn more calories walking outside in the cold because it takes so much energy to keep ourselves warm. that’s one good thing about winter!

Leave a Reply

