Holly – steps update from Oct. 12 to Nov. 10

okay, FINALLY, here we go:

Sun Oct 12 (Obama door to door canvassing in Pa.) – 15,366 (4.85 miles)
Mon Oct 13 – 2,392 steps
Tues Oct 14 – 8,069 steps
Wed Oct 15 – 3,403 steps
Thurs Oct 16 – 8,347 steps
Fri Oct 17 – 7,627 steps
Sun Oct 20 – 3,636 steps
Mon Oct 27 – 582 steps
Tues Oct 28 – 3,068 steps
Wed. Oct 29 – 1,146 steps (Mexico)
Thurs Oct 30 – 5,250 steps (Mexico)
Fri Oct 31 – 10,567 steps (Mexico)
Sat Nov 1 – 3592 steps (Mexico)
Sunday Nov 2 – 5,196 steps (Mexico)
Tues Nov 4 – 1,186 steps
Wed Nov 5 – 1,453 steps
Thurs Nov 6 – 3,624 steps
Fri Nov 7 – 5,606 steps
Sat Nov 8 – 4,351 steps
Sunday Nov 9 – 2,084 steps
Monday Nov 10 – 2,493 steps

Though I haven’t been posting due to being away and … the election… you see I have kept notes on my steps! And I will be much more frequent in future. These are times that tried men’s (and women’s) souls…
Thank God Obama won! I have to say; I never doubted for a minute that he would win, I just did not foresee the huge margin he won by 🙂

Now as for Mexico… oh my. Had never been there before (and I have traveled all over the world, one of my former jobs was being on tour with a rock band through Europe, Australia, and New Zealand – also I love to travel – one of my favorite places in the world is Iceland). Anyway back to Mexico… it was divine. The weather was perfect, they had just had three weeks of rain so we were very lucky to get there after that was finished. It was gloriously warm and sunny but most of the week not humid except for one day. I stayed at a friend’s condo that was literally steps from the Gulf of Mexico. The TV wasn’t working (thank God) so the only sound we heard was waves crashing against the shore.

My morning routine was getting up very early around 5 or 5:30 and watching the sky get light over the water, the sunrise was usually around 10 to 6. Then I would meditate feeling the warmth of the sun on my face and hearing the waves. It was so wonderful! Also I was very lucky to be able to participate in Day of the Dead ceremonies with a community of Mayan women. I helped prepare the altar and also helped make hundreds of tamales for the big feast. It was beyond beyond. A trip I will never forget.

Here is a photo of my view from the terrace of the condo looking out at the water at sunrise:

fromterrace102908

4 Comments

Filed under general

4 responses to “Holly – steps update from Oct. 12 to Nov. 10

  1. Sara

    Great record, Holly! Yes, keeping a record of your steps is very motivating and encouraging.
    Mexico does sound divine, and watching the sun come up from the beach even more so. You are fortunate to have done so much traveling!
    Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Good job, Holly! Keep recording your steps, it does help! Glad that you enjoyed your Mexico trip!

  3. naomidagenbloom

    Holly, sometime you’ll have to tell me how you managed to get 10,000+ steps with all that disincentive of beach and relaxing.

    Good to see the pedometer is working for you.

  4. sablonneuse

    Oh Holly that trip sounds fantastic – and weren’t you good to keep track of your steps as well!

Leave a Reply

