Claude – a rather good week

As promised, posting on Saturday.
Sunday Oct. 5 looked grim and gloomy, a real autumn day with dead leaves flying around, wind and rain. I managed walking to the market 5,100 steps, 35mn aerobics on the Wii, 25mn indoors biking. Quite pleased to go back to indoors biking. The Wii and the bike are good on days when not much else is possible.
Monday Oct. 6 10mn stretching, 5mn abs, 1000 metres swimming, 3598 steps. Pleased with myself for keeping up with the swimming. I find it more tiring than anything else I do though.
Tuesday Oct. 7 one-hour Feldenkrais session, 8,351steps (3,695 aerobic steps)
Wed. Oct. 8 13,000 steps, 30mn + 10mn brisk walking
Thu. Oct. 9 I met a fellow photographer and we went to Père Lachaise Cemetery only walked 8,000 steps, and did 5mn abs in the morning. I wonder if the pedometer didn’t stop counting the steps at one point, although my beloved Omron has never done this before, because my feet and legs felt like I had walked much more. But then, walking and taking photos is a bit like being in a museum.
identical pedometers

My pedometer on the left. Monceau‘s counts miles

Finally yesterday, Friday, Oct. 10, another excellent day with wonderful weather. I had my Friday one-hour stretching session, walked 13,500 steps, and proudly managed 45mn brisk walking.
I am patting myself on the shoulder. 😉

6 Comments

Filed under Biking indoors, Brisk walking, general, Pedometer, Stretching, Swimming, Walking

6 responses to “Claude – a rather good week

  1. Chuckling over here. Just put that pedometer on my Amazon WishList! 🙂 You and everyone on ElderExercise are inspirational.

  2. naomidagenbloom

    Claude, admiring your transition to more indoor activity to maintain exercise goals. That’s quite a diverse group of activities. You’re entitled to pat yourself on the back!

    Know the glorious weather here cannot hold and that means more time on the nearby treadmill. Like to have group think about ways inclement weather changes what we do.

    Surprised to see Jennifer comment here since thought people not in Elderexercise could only peek–not comment. Delighted we’ve inspired her, hope she joins, fascinating blog from Israel.

  3. No one can comment unless we let them. Since Jennifer’s comment was kind, I figured that it couldn’t hurt 😉
    And maybe it’ll nudge her towards the group!

    And yes, as winter is coming back, we might as well try to focus on indoor activities like your treadmill, my indoors bike (not my favourite, but what can I do?) or even walking in museums or exhibitions…
    We could even do a tips and tricks about winter?

  4. Sara

    Fantastic week, Claude! We are patting you on the shoulder too!
    Yes, tips and tricks about winter would be welcome. I dread it! Right now we are having one lovely week of Indian summer and I hope it will last through October.

  5. Sara, winter is not all that bad 😉
    We have to rely more on indoor stuff. I’ll start a thread about this next week in the form of tips and tricks.
    We are having a great Indian summer here too. September was winter, and October is spring!

  6. sablonneuse

    Claude, I am most impressed and it is so noticeable that everyone is making progress. You seem very well organised with a variety of exercises. I bet if you compare your fitness now to what it was like a year ago you’ll give yourself a huge pat on the back!

Leave a Reply

