Lia- Review

Naomi and Claude have asked for feedback or a review of sorts about this experiment. I would just like to say that on a personal level this group has been very beneficial on various levels. Overall, I am doing consistently more walking by far than before I was with the group. I’d set a vague goal of at least 5,000 steps per day, or six days a week. There were some phases where this was not possible Life caught up with me, but that seems to have improved. Also, I have tried other things as well, which I might not have done if it wasn’t for you guys.

What has also happened in the meantime, and I don’t know if it has anything to do with the positive experience I’ve had in your group, but I’ve become more involved in other online communities (here, here, and here). I know this is crazy, and I will eventually have to cut back on these activities, but overall it is a very interesting development.

My goals for the next few months. To see whether I can sustain the level of exercise (e.g. min. 5,000 steps a day) over a longer period of time. Become more conscientious about commenting on other ElderExercise postings. Build up a regular yoga home practice.

I have weight issues and menopausal issues, but at the moment, I’d prefer to put those on a back burner.

I want to thank all of you for being so supportive over the last months and I look forward to continue our group.

My report for the last ten days or so:

Monday: Walking 7,000 steps, yoga 20 min.

Tuesday: Walking 11,555 steps, yoga 10 min.

Wednesday: Yoga 15 min, walking 8,100 steps

Thursday: Yoga 1 hr, walking 5,900 steps

Friday: Walking 7,600 steps

Saturday: Walking 4,500 steps

Sunday: Walking 8,100 steps

Monday: Walking 8,300 steps

Tuesday: Walking 3,400 steps, yoga 10 min.

Wednesday: Yoga 20 min, walking 5,600 steps

Thursday: Walking 5,400 steps

6 Comments

Filed under general

6 responses to “Lia- Review

  1. naomidagenbloom

    Lia, it’s great to hear the group has worked for you! You definitely have a handle on regular walking, frequent yoga.

    Your idea of putting selected issues aside is a good one–and I’m intrigued that participation in this group has led you to others. Perhaps you’ll start one of your own?

  2. Lia, your walking average is great! I think you are right to put weight and menopause on a back burner (love the expression), as one cannot deal with everything at the same time, without going crazy 😉
    At least this is how I feel.
    Anyway keep going the way you are. You’re doing a great job!

  3. Sara

    Awesome job, Lia! Yes, good to put some things on a back burner. And leave the burner on low heat or else we boil over… 🙂 just to ridiculously extend the metaphor!

  4. lilalia

    naomi, I’m thinking about reducing all these activities, and here you are suggesting I start my own group! I’m feeling fine just where I am.

    Claude and Sara, thanks for your words of encouragement.

  5. sablonneuse

    You sound really organised and able to put in an impressive amount of exercise. here’s wishing you every success. As for the menopause and weight problems they are a real pain – back burner is the best place for them! In my experience it’s a huge relief when the former is finally through but the weight problem seems to stick. . . . . .

  6. Lia, everything you’re doing sounds wonderful. keep it up!

Leave a Reply

