Tips and tricks: about pedometers

On a site recommended by Sara, Prevention.com, there’s this interesting tip about using pedometers, one that we already practice here at ElderExercise

Easy Ways to Walk Off 10+ Pounds
Find out how you can use a pedometer to your advantage

Smart pedometer wearers burn more than 100 extra calories a day, according to Stanford University research. That’s up to 12 pounds a year! Here’s how they do it:
Set goals: Walkers who aimed for 10,000 steps a day netted 4 times as many steps daily (about 1.15 miles more) as those who didn’t try for a specific number.
Log your steps: Adults who jotted down their tally added an extra 1.25 miles of daily walking, while those who didn’t keep tabs added less than half a mile.
Stay consistent: Regular wear is key to results. Try a device that can be worn with any outfit (…)

Now I think that we, at ElderExercise, keep tabs. Not sure about setting goals.
I set myself goals, like managing three sessions of brisk walking a week, but I don’t decide ahead of time how long I’m going to walk. I stop when I’ve had it.
I do keep tabs and write down my daily efforts on my Google calendar, besides doing it here.
What about you?

2 Comments

Filed under Pedometer, tips and tricks

2 responses to “Tips and tricks: about pedometers

  1. Sara

    Setting goals, ah yes! I have not been very specific about this. I have tried to hit the 10,000 mark a couple times a week since I first managed it — that’s usually by planning a walk to a destination like Wegman’s. Ideally, I would like to be able to walk at least 6000 steps at least 5 days a week; OR 7000 steps at least 4 days a week. Hm. I’m not sure if saying this to myself would help or not but it’s worth a try! I know that I dislike the feeling of a day when I don’t get in any aerobic steps…because then it is harder to get up my local hills with ease. Hm. Thanks, Claude, for suggesting some structure here…

  2. sablonneuse

    Setting a target sounds like a good idea. So far I just note my daily total on the calendar. Perhaps when I start venturing out for a proper walk I’ll try to set myself a goal and gradually increase it. Of course it will have to stop pouring with rain first. . . . .

Leave a Reply

