Naomi – July 24 -Why I talk about my weight

Noticing that several here are concerned about what’s perceived as my obsession with weight, I thought it would be useful to put it in context. It is an issue that I’ve never had to be concerned with (and I’ll be 75 next month).

But as my retirement has rolled on into its 12th year, my concern has been heightened with my avoidance of certain things. I never looked at myself in the mirror unless getting dressed up for some special outing. And those have disappeared from my life. Hardly ever weighed myself and would think, “As long as it does not go above ___.” What was this about I wondered (as only a former psychotherapists can wonder, I suppose).

There was the issue of not being interested in making an effort to travel, to think about creating another public art project. Partly it’s about aging.

My spouse, playing racquetball twice a week and only a bit overweight, had a quadruple by-pass three years ago. Our eating style changed.

But chocolate-imbibing became regular in the past year or so. Knew I’d become more sedentary than was useful. When Claude reported the need to pay more attetion to her own physical activity, I saw a window for change, a way for mutual support. So Elderexercise was begun.

This morning as I thought what I’d write here, I folowed my morning coffee my daily read of Ronni Bennett’s blog. Talk about synchronicity.  Read the  July 24 post at http://www.timegoesby.net/.

So, please, celebrate my paying regular attention to my body.   Weighing myself once a week is not be an obsession in the DSM III (would insert link but button not working). I no longer eat chocolate after every lunch; spouse and i plan outings in this foodcentric city to eat at home more often, and I just turned down a bag of popcorn when my friend and I went to see “Mama, Mia!”

6 Comments

Filed under general

6 responses to “Naomi – July 24 -Why I talk about my weight

  1. lilalia

    Naomi, I hope I haven’t said anything untoward about your focus on weight. If so, I apologize. I agree with you that we all have things (for lack of a better word) that we concentrate on, when really we are more or less just all struggling along to find a way of growing old gracefully and sustaining a sense of humour. For you it is weight, for me it is my body that is evolving into my grandmother’s and mother’s body. This is happening regardless of 35 years of being a vegetarian and physically active.

    We are here at EldersExercise to celebrate our humble efforts and to keep each other motivated to live active lives. And we re doing quite well in these endeavours, don’t you think?

  2. Naomi, I’m sorry I ever said anything that could let you believe that I thought you were obsessed with your weight. I was only projecting my own personal life-long obsession with MY weight, that I was so happy to have left behind me, and funnily enough, at a time when I have in fact lost some.
    What really surprises me here, is what you say about mirrors. I’m probably the only person here who has actually met you and was struck on how good-looking and alert (is this an English word?) you looked. Always thought I’d love to see the next ten years develop in the same way yours did! But yes, what we do here is encourage our friends in whatever project they undertake.
    Except if we think it’s dangerous, of course! 😉
    And anyway, weighing once a week is good practice.

    Congratulations on turning down the bag of popcorns. I don’t buy popcorn, but must admit that when I’m being offered some, never turn it down.

    Incidentally, what’s DSM III?

  3. Sara

    Was it I? (is that grammatical?) I hope not. I WAS obsessed with my weight all this last year, I weighed myself every day, as you are not supposed to do. I let go of that in Europe and just ate and walked. So I suppose like Claude I was speaking to the former me, if I did say such a thing.
    Several years ago I went through a period of not bothering much about myself and I gained weight. That was before I turned 60 and noticed that my sedentariness was resulting in a lack of breath for singing. This could not be tolerated! So I began working out and little by little I have begun to like my body again. Part of it for me was not having a man in my life to dress up for. Now I am dressing up for me, when I feel like it…that feels good.
    I am sure I will go through several more stages of this sort of thing, as I get older. I have nothing but respect and admiration for everyone in this group and the marvelous way you all play the hand you have been dealt. Only hope I can do as well when I get to be your age, Naomi! You can weigh yourself as much as you like, why not? Take good care… :-)s, Sara

  4. naomidagenbloom

    Lia, Claude, and Sara,

    You’re all wonderful Elderexercise participants whose comments have been very useful to me. I was struck by the reaction to my paying attention to my weight, so thought it was important to clarify that it is not on my mind as a constant. Becoming an everyday exerciser does trouble me, and I appreciate all the support you’ve given. That’s my big challenge.

    DSM III is “Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders,” a handbook used by mental health professionals to describe mental disorders. One of several questionable “innovations” of the late 20th century in my not-so-humble opinion!

  5. Sara

    Becoming an everyday exerciser troubles me too, Naomi! Not to fear. We are all in the same boat here but we are going to SWIM, not SINK! Onward and upward, at whatever speed seems appropriate…excelsior, as I seem to remember that James Thurber used to say. Thurber is an acquired taste but I used to cackle over his stuff when I was a teenager, believe it or not! 🙂

  6. Kay

    I don’t think you’re obsessive about your weight, Naomi. Paying attention to it isn’t obsessive — it’s good sense.

    I’m not good at dieting so I’ve paid attention to my weight all my life. I have enough discipline to lose five pounds but no more so if I get too sloppy in my eating habits, I just cut out the villain until I get back to where I think I should be.

    You’re doing just fine!

Leave a Reply

